How did we get here?

We all have a daily routine. Maybe it’s the 9 to 5 office job, going from lecture to class or job hunting (which can be as busy as a full time job!).

Do you ever stop to wonder why you are here? Was it by your own choice? Do you feel you had a choice?

I’ve been thinking about this recently. Mainly because I’ve just started studying my Masters degree. Something I didn’t always plan to do, but a few influences brought me here…

I studied Computing because I thought it was the thing that I was best at. Don’t get me wrong, I’m passionate about what I do. I enjoyed studying software engineering at Under Graduate level. A week after my final exam I was lucky to start full time work as an MI (Management Information) Analyst. Along side the job, which I enjoyed, i did freelance work to develop skills further. After 3yrs of this I left to study my MSc in an IT related course. (Started last month!)

With the things I have done in my life so far, I think that I could have been something different. Who knows – maybe even a doctor!

I think that I am here due to a mix of my own self confidence and the influences around me. Influences such as; what are my friends doing? What are my parents advising to do? Most of us also have our own personal guru or teacher to ask for advice.

Mine was my Uncle. Somebody with an incredible knowledge of almost everything. I didnt have the idea to study my masters while he was alive, so we never got a chance to discuss it. However, he remains one major influence.

It’s a shame though, that one influence was the college teachers telling me to study what I’m good at. This is is the system. We’re told to study what we are best at. As in, what is within our capabilities.

Why does the system work like this?

Should we do whatever we feel we can do?

I found myself recently saying, “If I was smarter, I would have became a doctor or i could help people”.

I know now, that it really if possible to be anything you want to be. I just wished we were really told this when we were younger.

So, why are you here?
Who influenced you?
Are you happy?

3 comments on “How did we get here?

  1. It’s a blessing when what you love is also your strength, it’s a shame it doesn’t happen all that often but you’re right, anything is possible, and they really should teach this to us instead of making us believe the horrible, cold, grey system!

Leave a Reply

